Originally posted on SNY Rangers Blog:

NHL 2013 RealignmentThe NHL Board of Governors has approved realignment that will go into place next season.

The league will stay in two conferences and have two divisions within each conference.

There will be 14 teams in the Western Conference and 16 teams in the Eastern Conference.


  • The top three teams in each division make the playoffs (6 of 8 conference teams)
  • The remaining two spots (wild cards) will be awarded to the teams with the highest point totals in the conference, regardless of division.
  • The division winner with the most points in the conference will be matched against the wild-card team with the lowest number of points; the division winner with the second-most points in the conference will play the wild-card team with the second fewest points.
  • It is possible for one division to have five teams and the other to have three teams make the playoffs.

The wild card…

View original 156 more words